questioning reality

As I am one week from presenting my final proposal for my live performance I am doing lots of visual research on videos and works that are similar to mine, so I can get inspired from it, have as a reference or simply know that I am going into the right way.

O my proposal I have an actor inside a flat and the audience on the streets mediated by a camera, a computer with a video-artist and a projector, representing 2 different ways of “reality” in one sense, and to be more specific, 2 different perceptions of time (considering Bergson’s book The creative mind).

This work comes from the idea os the live and mediatized performances, and how a live action after being mediatized is perceived by its audience.

On my research I found a work “O amor segundo B. Schianberg“(Love according to B. Schianberg) was presented at the ‘LIVE CINEMA’ festival which happens in Brazil, and is directed by Beto Brant. He had one actor and one video artist in one flat for a week, they had the briefing of the story,  the director placed cameras inside it, and was watching the images while editing it live. As well he asked for the video artist to have make her own images of the situation, while being inside the flat.

The director made a film from it.

The presentation at “Live cinema” was a video art made by they both.

It is amazing how it relates to my practice as I am having 2 people on a flat, the actor and the video artist, editing live images as she sees it, and projecting across the street her own interpretation of the “live” she is watching.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

